Proudly sponsored by...

Forte 150px width.jpg

History of Weston-super-Mare C.C from 1977 - 1983

A highlight of 1977 was the Falcons who bowled out Old Colstonians for 9 runs. David Rundell took 6 for 1 and Peter Braganza 4 for 3. The Falcons lost 4 wickets in the 10 runs needed for the win. John Hook took over 100 wickets for the season in 1977. 

The Eaglets were revived again in 1978 under the captaincy of Bryan Chambers. Weston 1st XI threatened to win the Somerset League, but failed to win any oftheir last 6 matches outright.

In 1979, Weston finished 3rd in the Somerset League Premier Division, and the 2nd XI finished second in Division 1 of the 2nd XI competition. The Weston Annual Club Tour was revived by John Poole with a tour to the West Midlands.
Brian Rose, in 1979, led Somerset to victory in the Gillette Cup and also in the John Player League. This was their first-ever triumphs in 104 years of Somerset history.

Weston won the Somerset Premier League for the first time in 1980. Phil Slocombe topped both batting and bowling averages having been dropped by Somerset. Captain Eddie Langford scored 606 runs (1 century) and Chris Norton amassed 693 runs (1 century). The Falcons won the North Somerset Cup and promotion from Division 3 in their first league season.

The Somerset Premier League title was retained in 1981. John Scott, David Hill and Nick Evans took the bowling honours. The Eaglets joined the North Somerset League Division 3.

Weston 1st XI finished second in the Somerset Premier League in 1982. They also won the Bristol & District Plate Competition.

Although Weston only finished third in The Somerset Premier League in 1983, they won the Somerset Senior K.O. Cup beating Taunton Deane handsomely in the final. Weston Scored 184 for 2 (Eddie Langford 73, Duncan Sperring 50 and Simon Turner 50) ; Taunton Deane 73 for 7 (Kevin Farrow 4 for 15).

Also, in 1983, Weston’s 1st XI won the TNT Overnite 60 overs-a-side competition beating Taunton in the final. Weston Falcons won Division 2 of the North Somerset League.